The Tapering of Relationships: The Ending, or the Beginning?

I don’t get it. I mean, I would like to think I understand people. I feel I normally understand people pretty well, but I just cannot seem to wrap my head around this. I don’t know if it is something I have done, or if it is something on their end, but there is a massive disconnect for reasons I’ve not fully discerned. I have thoughts, and possibilities, but nothing certain. I just wish I could fix whatever it is. I mean, I know I have issues with them, but I do my best to not let it affect the normal everyday functions of life, because that would feel too much like this: stressed, unsure, distant, erroneous.

It could boil down to something very simple, such as we’ve lived together for 24 years and we need to stop doing that, but that’s not an option if I want them to still have a place to live. It could be that there was more stress in the house than normal, though I don’t know where it would have come from. It could be something like waking up on the wrong side of the bed, but I thought I woke up okay, so hopefully, it isn’t me if that’s the problem.

Look, everyone has problems with other people. There’s never a single person on the planet that you know that you don’t have at least one problem with, no matter how small. It’s not possible. However, instead of letting that problem be the only thing you see, instead of letting it rule the relationship, you push it to the side. You move it out of the way so you can focus on something better than that one problem. If you really care, or you are in a long-term relationship with someone, you should work on the problem, in my opinion. Your wife hates that you burp in her face, so maybe, just maybe, you turn away from her to burp. Now, that’s not the most massive change, but it is a change, and I’m sure she would appreciate it. And maybe, once that problem is solved, another pops up. Welcome to humanity where that is bound to happen.

The problem arises when there is a problem, or maybe even problems, and there is no desire to work it or them out. Then what? What can you do? Do you keep trying to work it out, even if you have for years already, or do you call it quits and move on to a different relationship to focus on? I don’t know. I don’t know what to do, or what the right move is. I don’t know what I would do after the initial decision, no matter what that decision was. I have absolutely zero ideas as to what I’m supposed to do here, and I don’t know how to achieve that which I have yet to figure out, and I don’t know what path to take to determine any of the answers to any of these questions.

I feel stuck, and mentally I am stuck. I want to get out of this scenario, this overly complicated, problematic scenario, but I am the only person to blame for me being here. This was MY choice, and if I abandon that choice now, I will have ruined everything I’ve done up until now. If I was just going to give up now, why not before and save myself a hell of a lot of trouble? It would have been so much simpler… I don’t know. I simply don’t know…

Taper

Deuces…

2 thoughts on “The Tapering of Relationships: The Ending, or the Beginning?

  1. sounds like you are stuck in a rut . sometimes you just have to bite the bullet and jumpf off that cliff! Enough cliches for you? 🙂

    Like

    1. Definitely not! As a lover of sarcasm, sass, puns, and more, cliches definitely fit the bill, and more are always welcome!

      Honestly, today was just mentally a strenuous day for me. I’m sure others have similar problems (I am by no means unique). I just couldn’t focus on the problem well enough to solve it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

